Te Kete Ipurangi Navigation:

Te Kete Ipurangi

Te Kete Ipurangi user options:

Senior Secondary navigation


You are here:

What is valued knowledge in the arts?

The arts learning area comprises five disciplines:

Within each discipline, students develop arts literacies as they build on skills, knowledge, attitudes, values, and key competencies at each level of the curriculum.

Students generate and refine their own artistic ideas through cycles of action and reflection. By using traditional and new technologies to engage with the arts, they learn to analyse critically and reflect on artists’ practices from diverse contexts, times, and places.

The arts disciplines have their own distinct languages that use both verbal and non-verbal conventions, mediated by selected processes and technologies.

Through movement, sound, symbol, and image, the arts transform people’s creative ideas into expressive works that communicate layered meanings, feelings, and interpretive understandings of the world.

Last updated February 1, 2012