Te Kete Ipurangi Navigation:

Te Kete Ipurangi

Te Kete Ipurangi user options:

Senior Secondary navigation


Health education: Full-year sample programmes (level 8)

Level 8 has been selected for these sample courses to highlight the depth required for learning at this level and to support teachers in both the preparation and delivery.

When planning a level 8 health education programme, teachers need to work with their students to identify the context for learning, in line with the five main focus areas that are the foundation of all health education at this level:

  • New Zealand health issues
  • international health issues
  • ethical issues
  • contemporary health practices
  • models for health promotion.

The knowledge is shaped by the underlying concepts that lie across the big focus areas and contexts.

This selection of contexts may relate to different themes for learning introduced across the programme, or be self-contained units related to the standards. Teachers must consider any assessment specifications that will affect their choices for the current year.

Note: When selecting health education standards to assess learning, use level 8 standards in conjunction with standards from other matrices. The conceptual learning required to carry out a critical analysis must be included in the learning programme. 

For subject endorsement, students will need to complete and achieve at least one externally assessed standard.

Last updated August 28, 2020