Te Kete Ipurangi Navigation:

Te Kete Ipurangi

Te Kete Ipurangi user options:

Senior Secondary navigation


Section menu

Learning objectives



Philosophical perspectives

Applied philosophy

You are here:

NCEA assessment: Level 3

At the time of publication, philosophy does not have subject-specific achievement standards, but learning can be assessed using standards from other domains. These include but are not limited to the standards listed below. For more information, see the NZAPT website.

Examples are given for assessment of full-year courses, using a combination of unit and achievement standards at curriculum levels 6, 7, and 8, sourced from social studies, art history, classical studies, English, mathematics, religious studies, and science.

When achievement standards for philosophy are available, this guide will reference them.

Suggested achievement and unit standards

The achievement and unit standards listed are all internally assessed unless stated otherwise.

Note: The following achievement and unit standards are all NCEA level 3 and internally assessed.
Standards Area Name/description
(4 credits)
Produce an extended piece of writing in a selected style.
Topic of choice
(5 credits)
Conduct a seminar using a transactional oral text.
Topic of choice
(6 credits)
Classical studies
Examine and investigate aspects of classical philosophical and scientific thought.
Ancient Greek thought
(6 credits)
Classical studies
Analyse the character, philosophy, and methods of Socrates as reflected by Plato.
(6 credits)
Religious studies
Examine the responses of a religious tradition to a contemporary ethical issue.
Ethics, for example,
genetic manipulation
(6 credits)
Religious studies
Compare and contrast a religious tradition with a secular world view.
Philosophy of religion,
political philosophy,
for example, Islam and Marxism
(6 credits)
Social studies
Conduct an advanced social studies enquiry independently.
Political philosophy
(xx credits)
Social studies
Explain a values position.
Political philosophy

Before using, check that you have the correct version.

At the time of publication, achievement standards were in development to align them with The New Zealand Curriculum. Please ensure that you are using the correct version of the standards by going to the NZQA website.

Aligned level 1 achievement standards were registered for use in 2011 and level 2 for use in 2012; level 3 will be registered for use in 2013.

< Back to learning objectives

Last updated August 18, 2015